Home Page


What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our curriculum subjects here.

Foundation Phase - Infants


The Foundation Phase is made up of 7 Areas of Learning where structured play activities are woven into the learning experiences of children. 

  1. Personal and Social Development
  2. Language, Literacy and Communication
  3. Mathematical Development
  4. Physical Development
  5. Creative Development
  6. Physical Development
  7. Welsh


To find out more about these areas click on the links below.


Programmes of study specify what learners should be taught for each subject in the national curriculum for Wales.


They also set out, for Key Stages 2 and 3, the expected standards of learners’ performance.

Key Stage 2 - Juniors

The curriculum in Key Stage 2 (age 7 to 11 years) is made up of the following National Curriculum subjects. Each subject has a programme of study which details the knowledge, skills and understanding that children need to develop. Click on the links below to find out more.

The Numercay  and Litercay  Framework (LNF)


The LNF sets the skills we expect learners to develop. Within literacy we expect learners to become accomplished in:

  • oracy across the curriculum
  • reading across the curriculum
  • writing across the curriculum.

Within numeracy we expect learners to become accomplished in:

  • developing numerical reasoning
  • using number skills
  • using measuring skills
  • using data skills.

Teachers will be able to use the LNF to:

  • develop curriculum content to ensure that all learners have opportunities to develop and refine the skills set out in the LNF
  • integrate literacy and numeracy into their teaching – whatever the subject matter
  • inform discussions with parents/carers, learners and other teachers about learner performance
  • help learners with their own self-assessment activities and planning for learning
  • monitor, assess and report on individual learner performance
  • identify learners who may benefit from intervention or who are working beyond age-related expectations.

Digital competence is one of 3 cross-curricular responsibilities, alongside literacy and numeracy. It focuses on developing digital skills which can be applied to a wide range of subjects and scenarios.

The Framework has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements.

  • Citizenship – which includes:
    • Identity, image and reputation
    • Health and well-being
    • Digital rights, licensing and ownership
    • Online behaviour and cyberbullying.
  • Interacting and collaborating – which includes:
    • Communication
    • Collaboration
    • Storing and sharing.
  • Producing – which includes:
    • Planning, sourcing and searching
    • Creating
    • Evaluating and improving.
  • Data and computational thinking – which includes:
    • Problem solving and modelling
    • Data and information literacy.